Celebrating 100 Years!
SuperUser Account
/ Categories: Uncategorized

Celebrating 100 Years!

Currumbin’s century of celebrations

The Currumbin Beach Vikings SLSC does hold a unique place in the history of Australian Surf Life Saving with its precarious positioning - a club formed in 1919-20 with a small shack positioned on the northern side of the rock formation.

The drowning of his daughter saw our  “founding father” Fielding Chippendale instigate the eventual formation of the Currumbin Surf Club, which adopted its Vikings heritage from the membership from Ipswich Vikings Swimming Club.

Now some 100 years on the club has proudly survived storm and tempest to serve the southern Gold Coast community, producing some of Australia’s finest surf lifesavers who have patrolled continuously every year for the past century, risking their lives and braving treacherous conditions to save others.

Countless Queensland and National champions and some of Australia’s greatest lifesavers and Olympians grace the walls of the Vikings, a club crowned Australian champions in 1977, 1998 and 1999.

Lifesavers who continue to play a major role in competition and lifesaving activities, finishing second at the 2018 World Lifesaving Championships and third at the 2019 Aussies and an unprecedented five Australian Pool Rescue Titles, with the Club’s Juniors taking out back-to-back Queensland Pointscores in 2018 and 2019.

With Jeff Foreman at the helm, Currumbin’s record to win 14 Australian Patrol Competitions out of 15 seasons – 10 of them consecutively between 1992 and 2001 is testament to the quality of lifesaver to have worn the famous green and white quartered caps and the iconic surf lifesaving red and yellow quartered caps.

We welcome our “Old Boys” and “Vintage Vikings” including in the legendary John Neumann and our ever-present Patron Ted Carey.

The Neumann family is synonymous with the Vikings from Alf and his sons Robert, John and Peter – the Neumann name is etched into the annals of a club they helped build and have supported through its entire journey.

We also welcome our Life Members, our hard working committees, Australian champions and Australian representatives and all patrolling members.

Like legendary board paddler and Australian representative Dick Cahill – a member of our victorious Australian champion Taplin Relay teams of the 70s and our most recent Australian champions from the 2018 Taplin Relay team, Jackson Maynard, Hayden White, Jayden Erskine, Corey Fletcher and Joey Engel with Maynard, White and Fletcher also winning further gold in the Australian board relay in 2019.

Words by Ian Hanson



“When we forget our past only then do memories die so this dream today we promise to forever keep alive.”

Previous Article Our Gaming room is Open from 12 noon Friday 3rd July 2020
Next Article Seaclusion Weddings & Events at Currumbin SLSC
2661 Rate this article: